Universal Orlando Resort Expansion (Part 1) | Page 317 | Inside Universal Forums

Universal Orlando Resort Expansion (Part 1)

• Signing up for a Premium Membership is a donation to help Inside Universal maintain costs and offers an ad-free experience on the forum. Learn more about it here.
Status
Not open for further replies.
It's because there's all sorts of bonus tax implications to getting property improvements activated as quickly as possible before tax law phaseouts begin in 2023.

I'm not a tax lawyer, so I can't talk specifically about Comcast, but basically the expensing depreciation bonuses will begin to phase out after 2023. So if Universal wants to take advantage of those, they need as much built as possible by December 31, 2023. They'll still get bonuses in 2024-2027 for improvements, but each year they lose an additional 20% of the bonus I think.

If thats the case, wouldn't it more likely to build the two parks and the water park by that date to save the most money? While it makes sense to wait to open and phase, if the main reason it got fast tracked was due to the bill and is set to expire then, I would expect them to at least cover two parks (dry and wet and most of the other park by then as well as continually update USF and IOA at the same time).

Last edited:
Reactions: fryoj and zg44
You don't count IOA as a new theme park?

I count it as a new park and along with CityWalk and the 3 original hotels, it was a huge project but it was getting built next to USF. This project adds all the infrastructure on top of it plus the scale is so much larger. This park when it opens, could be doing double what IOA did in its opening year with how busy Orlando is projected to be plus the attention that some of the IPs will bring.

Sogwarts express? Probably not.

hqdefault.jpg

A drop slide out the park into the water park would be bad ass though.

Reactions: anihilnation