TRON Lightcycle Run | Page 15 | Inside Universal Forums

TRON Lightcycle Run

• Signing up for a Premium Membership is a donation to help Inside Universal maintain costs and offers an ad-free experience on the forum. Learn more about it here.
For how old it is, I actually don't think it's in that terrible of shape, but it still desperately needs an upgrade. If they can do a big change ala Disneyland and make the vehicles like those as well, it would completely doubly the capacity of the ride while bringing it into the 21st century.

The thing is, with Tron moving in next door, any redesign they do has to take Tron into account so the rides aren't too similar.

I have no first hand knowledge but from what I read they are welding patches every night on SM. TWDC has had two deaths on attractions that I am aware of, BTTM and SM Dl. It looks like they are pushing for another. The 2010 refurb was passed over, and it is now 10 years later. The compelling reasons for the 2010 refurb are still there but 10 more years of wear cannot have increased safety.
I stopped riding in the early 2000's due to the track and the brake runs added. Not fun so why ride.

They need to take it down but the suits are playing publicity, timing and splash over guest safety IMO.
Last time I gave it a run was the first 24 hour and it was not what I remember from the early years. Just not worth the wait. It cannot have improved since then.

I have no first hand knowledge but from what I read they are welding patches every night on SM. TWDC has had two deaths on attractions that I am aware of, BTTM and SM Dl. It looks like they are pushing for another. The 2010 refurb was passed over, and it is now 10 years later. The compelling reasons for the 2010 refurb are still there but 10 more years of wear cannot have increased safety.
I stopped riding in the early 2000's due to the track and the brake runs added. Not fun so why ride.